Browsing All Posts filed under »Man Booker Prize winner«

Special Prize: The Man Booker Best of Beryl

February 8, 2011


Dame Beryl (1932 – 2010)  Dame Beryl, who missed out on the prestigious Man Booker Prize for which she was shortlisted five times, will finally get recognized in 2011for her contribution to literature. One of her five novels would be receiving a special prize, The Man Booker Best of Beryl. The winner will be […]

Man Booker Prize 2009

October 8, 2009


Man Booker Prize for the year 2009 has been won by Hilary Mantel for her book ‘Wolf Hall’. The book deals with the fictionalized life of Thomas Cromwell. It is set in 1520s, related to Cromwell’s rise to power in the Tudor court of King Henry VIII. The book has been a favourite ever since […]

Arvind Adiga wins Man Booker Prize 2008

October 15, 2008


Arvind Adiga has won the prestigious Man Booker Prize for the year 2008. The winning novel ‘The White Tiger’ is his debutant novel. He is among the very few who pocketed this award for their respective first novel. With this achievement he has joined the camp of Arundhati Roy (for ‘The God of Small Things’) […]

Man Booker International Prize 2007

June 30, 2007


 CHINUA ACHEBE                                               (courtesy: REUTERS/Ralph Orlowski) Chinua Achebe, the Nigerian novelist, was awarded the Man Booker International Prize 2007. He surpassed the nominees like Margaret Atwood, Dorris Lessing, Michael Ondaatje, Philip Roth, Salman Rushdie. The judging panel consisted of Elaine Showalter, Nadine Gordimer and Colm Tóibin. This prize is an international literary award given every two […]